Best Air Miles credit cards in Canada (now Blue Rewards)


If you are looking for the best Air Miles credit cards in Canada, the name has changed. On June 2, 2026, BMO launched Blue Rewards and moved the AIR MILES program to it. Existing Reward Miles converted to Blue Points with no loss of value, according to BMO, and the old BMO AIR MILES cards now earn Blue Points.
So today, an "Air Miles credit card" means a BMO Blue Rewards card. This guide compares the 4 cards in the line-up, with fees, earn rates, and welcome offers read from our card database as of October 18, 2026. To compare them with every other rewards card, see our best credit cards hub.
BMO announced the official launch of Blue Rewards on June 2, 2026, and described it as the transition from the AIR MILES program. A BMO subsidiary still runs the program. BMO's FAQ confirms that cardholders keep the same card and card number, and that the cards simply earn Blue Points instead of Miles.
American Express no longer issues AIR MILES cards. Amex Canada wound down its AIR MILES co-brand partnership in 2023 to focus on its own Membership Rewards program. If you still search for an Amex Air Miles card, look at our best American Express credit cards instead.
BMO's reference rate is 1,500 Blue Points = $10 when you redeem in store at participating partners or for eGift Cards. That works out to about 0.67 cent per point. Other redemptions, such as travel, follow separate terms and rates.
That benchmark gives a quick way to read each card's earn rate:
At partners, BMO advertises up to 10x the Points, or "up to 6% back in value," on the World Elite card. We compare programs on our points valuation page.
All 4 cards are Mastercard products issued by BMO. Two are personal cards and two are business cards.
| Card | Annual fee | Base earn rate | Welcome offer | Minimum income |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BMO Blue Rewards World Elite Mastercard | $150, waived in year 1 | 1 Point per $1 (2x on groceries, gas, EV charging, wholesale, alcohol) | Up to 100,000 Points in year 1 (ends Oct. 31, 2026) | $80,000 personal or $150,000 household |
| BMO Blue Rewards Mastercard | $0 | 0.5 Point per $1 (1x on groceries, gas, EV charging, wholesale, alcohol) | 20,000 Points after $1,500 in 110 days (ends Oct. 31, 2026) | Not specified |
| BMO Blue Rewards World Elite Business Mastercard | $175, waived in year 1 | 1.25 Points per $1 | Up to $1,960 in value + first-year fee rebate (ends Nov. 30, 2027) | $80,000 personal or $150,000 household |
| BMO Blue Rewards Mastercard for Business | $0 | 1 Point per $1 | 30,000 Points after $3,000 in 110 days | Not specified |
This is the strongest earner for most people who spend on groceries and gas. Its earn rates, as of October 18, 2026:
The annual fee is $150, waived in the first year, and BMO requires a minimum income of $80,000 (individual) or $150,000 (household). The welcome offer pays up to 100,000 Points over the first year, in 3 steps:
BMO values the full package at "up to $1,600," a figure that includes the first-year fee waiver, a $200 NEXUS statement credit, lounge access, and an Instacart+ benefit. Applications must be received by October 31, 2026. The card also includes 4 airport lounge passes per year through Mastercard Travel Pass provided by DragonPass. See the BMO Blue Rewards World Elite Mastercard details.
This is the no-fee option. Its earn rates, as of October 18, 2026:
The welcome offer is 20,000 Points after $1,500 in purchases within 110 days, for applications received by October 31, 2026. At BMO's in-store rate, 20,000 Points are worth about $133. Read the full BMO Blue Rewards Mastercard review.
Business owners have two versions, according to our card database:
Our best business credit cards page compares them with other business cards.
The choice depends mostly on your spending and your income.
You meet the $80,000 personal or $150,000 household income threshold and spend at least $20,000 in the first year. In that case, you collect the full 100,000-Point welcome offer, which is worth about $667 at the in-store rate, before the fee kicks in. The 2-Point categories and 4 lounge passes add value if you buy groceries, gas, or travel often.
You spend less, want to avoid an annual fee, or don't meet the World Elite income requirement. You still earn on groceries and gas, and the 20,000-Point offer needs only $1,500 of spending.
You want the highest flat cash return or flexible airline transfers. Blue Points don't transfer to airline programs. Our best cash back credit cards and best travel credit cards cover those profiles.
BMO also links Blue Rewards to its bank accounts. The Blue Rewards Chequing Account earns up to 2x the Points on eligible grocery, gas, wholesale, and EV charging purchases made with the debit card. It also pays 500 Bonus Points each month with a minimum daily balance of $4,000, and another 500 Bonus Points each month if you also hold the World Elite card, according to BMO.
See the BMO Blue Rewards Chequing Account for fees and conditions.
Air Miles credit cards still exist, but they are now BMO Blue Rewards cards. For most households, the BMO Blue Rewards World Elite Mastercard offers the best value thanks to 2 Points per $1 on everyday categories and a welcome offer of up to 100,000 Points, as long as you meet the income requirement and spend $20,000 in year one. The no-fee BMO Blue Rewards Mastercard is the simpler pick for lighter spenders.
Both personal welcome offers end on October 31, 2026. To see how the cards stack up against the rest of the market, use our rewards calculator or browse all Blue Rewards credit cards.
Get our rate updates and money guides by email: subscribe to the Ratesopedia newsletter.
Yes, under a new name. BMO moved the AIR MILES program to Blue Rewards on June 2, 2026, and its former AIR MILES Mastercard cards now earn Blue Points. Card numbers did not change, and Reward Miles converted to Blue Points with no loss of value, according to BMO. Browse the line-up on our Blue Rewards credit cards page.
The BMO Blue Rewards World Elite Mastercard earns the most Blue Points. As of October 18, 2026, it pays 10 Points per $1 at participating partners and 2 Points per $1 on groceries, gas, EV charging, wholesale, and alcohol, with caps on both rates. Every other purchase earns 1 Point per $1. The no-fee BMO Blue Rewards Mastercard earns half those rates.
Yes. The BMO Blue Rewards Mastercard has no annual fee and offers 20,000 Points after $1,500 in purchases within 110 days, for applications received by October 31, 2026. Business owners can also look at the BMO Blue Rewards Mastercard for Business, which has no annual fee. See our best no annual fee credit cards for other options.
No. American Express Canada wound down its AIR MILES co-brand partnership in 2023 to focus on Membership Rewards. Today, Blue Points are earned with BMO Blue Rewards cards. If you prefer Amex, our best American Express credit cards page lists the current options.
BMO's reference rate is 1,500 Blue Points = $10 when redeemed in store at participating partners or for eGift Cards, about 0.67 cent per point. Other redemptions, including travel, follow separate rates. There is a daily limit of $750, or 112,500 Points, on in-store and eGift Card redemptions. Our points valuation page compares programs.
Yes. BMO's FAQ says you can keep using your card as usual, and that your physical card and card number do not change. The card now earns Blue Points instead of Miles. Your earn rates and benefits follow the current Blue Rewards terms, so check your cardholder agreement or the BMO Blue Rewards World Elite Mastercard page for the details.
Our reviews and rankings are based on an objective assessment. Advertisers do not influence our content. We may receive compensation through some links; our analysis and opinions remain independent.